Welcome to the Crystal Palace Museum!
The history of the Crystal Palace is kept alive here at the museum and tells the story of the Hyde Park and Sydenham Crystal Palaces. Housed in the only surviving building constructed by the Crystal Palace Company built around 1880 as a lecture room for the Crystal Palace Company’s School of Practical Engineering. The story of both palaces is told in a series of unique images supplemented by large scaled models of the Crystal Palace plus showcases displaying ceramics and other items associated with the Crystal Palace including remnants from the original building. Exterior exhibits close by the museum include the base of Brunel’s water tower, the last remaining 1851 Crystal Palace Column and the original Palace weighbridge.
The museum is a Charitable Trust and is open on weekends 11am- 4pm (11am-3pm GMT) The museum is free to visit but donations are welcome. Our team of volunteer stewards are on hand to provide information and answer any questions.
The Crystal Palace Museum trustees endeavour to ensure visitors enjoy the experience of their visit and welcome any feedback in this respect.
To discover the full history of the Crystal Palace from beginning to end can take on average up to one hour.
On the first Sunday of each month (April to October), at 12 noon, the museum give guided tours of the historic Crystal Palace site (Fee payable). The next tour is 12 noon on Sunday 7th June.
THE MUSEUM WILL BE CLOSED ON SUNDAY 24th MAY